Total noob with redirect and rewrite, redirect everything exept for one map

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Apr 1, 2011 at 1:12 PM
Edited Apr 1, 2011 at 1:13 PM

Hi, i just started with building websites after being out of it for like 9 years, and i rebuilded a website on a new domainname, but there is one map on the old domain which i would like to be accessable.

What i want to do is redirect every request for to except the requests for*.*, they should function as usual.
Thanks for the help already.

Apr 1, 2011 at 10:02 PM
Edited Apr 1, 2011 at 11:09 PM

Since the websites page all had .htm extention, and the files in the map i still want to use are .php scripts, i made the rules like this:

RewriteCond  %{HTTP_HOST}            ^(www\.)?mydomainnamehere\.nl$
RedirectRule ^/(.+)\.(htm)$      [R=301]

Only noob issue i have now when people request, it wont be redirected, im managing that issue with a basic html redirect: 

<meta http-equiv="REFRESH" content="0;url=">
Apr 2, 2011 at 2:40 PM

So you're all good, then?  Everything is working?

Apr 2, 2011 at 11:36 PM

Well, no, i would like to redirect everything exept requests for*.*, i know im pretty close with how i wrote the rule i use now.

i would like to know an expert opinion about what would be best to do in this case.

Im getting pretty loaded with information about all kinda scripting languages and all after being out of this kinda stuff for quite some time, pretty confusing for me sometimes :)

Apr 3, 2011 at 9:42 PM
Edited Apr 3, 2011 at 9:47 PM
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)?mydomainnamehere\.nl$
RedirectRule ^/(.+)\.(htm)$ [R=301]

Im so noob lol, this works like a charm already, since the scripts dont use .htm as extention, every php script is accesable, and what should be redirected is already being redirected.
I should probably quit for some sleep earlyer :D