Issues with 64bit w/ IIS7; using 2.1

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
May 6, 2011 at 8:24 PM
Edited May 6, 2011 at 8:40 PM

I am having issues using version 2.1 of 64bit IIRF on MS Windows Server 2008 64bit. It is IIS7.

Initially, I was unable to use the installer because of the 'IIS must be installed' prior to IIRF message. After that I moved on to using just the .dll and configuring it manually, which I'm quite familiar with since I've been using IIRF for over 2 years on 32bit systems. When moving forward with just the .dll I was having issues getting IIRF to show that it was doing anything.

Trying to use just the dll, I had the following issues: all pages displayed an 404 error that should have been redirected. Browsing to the iirfStatus page also provided a 404 error. No errors show up in the windows log, and no IIRF log was created. In order to debug, I have assigned read/write to every file that could be used including the directories where the .dll, .ini, and .log files would be saved.

After fighting that for a while, I browsed the discussions some more and found that there was an update posted to the installer. I tried that but hit an error (Setup for Ionic's ISAPI Rewrite Filter 2.1 ended prematurely.) just a few screens later, after browsing the installation process I determined that it was being caused when trying to read some of the IIS settings because it never got to the page where I select the web site to install it to. At this point, I figured that it is looking for some IIS config that I don't have. Going into the Role Services panel I decided to add EVERYTHING under 'Managment Tools' for IIS. After installing that all, I reattempted the install process and this time it worked.