Problems with rewrite/redirect rule sets

Topics: User Forum
Jul 19, 2011 at 4:31 AM

Hello everyone,

I am new to using the ISAPI Rewrite Filter and was wondering if one of you could offer some advice on using rewrite/redirect rule pairs.

I am hosting several web sites which use a content management system,  The CMS generates complex, SEO-unfriendly URLS, so I am using the ISAPI Rewrite Filter to resolve this problem.  I have successfully performed rewrites and redirects separately, but can't make them work together as the documentation suggests.

For example, here is a pair of rules I wrote for a page on my test site:

ReWriteRule ^/tournament-outings /page.php?page_id=194&name=Tournament_and_Outings

RedirectRule ^/.*(?=Tournament_and_Outings) [R=301]

The original URL is  From the first rule above you can see that I have rewritten it to an SEO-friendly URL:  The second rule redirects the old URL to the new one as recommended in the documentation.

Each of these rules will work on their own.  When the old, unfriendly URL is used, it does redirect to the new SEO-friendly URL (as shown in the address bar) but the browser displays an error message that "The page isn't redirecting properly" and that it "has detected that the server is redirecting the request for this address in a way that will never complete."

I suspect that I may be doing something wrong as I have not seen anything on this issue in the bug tracker.  Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Jul 19, 2011 at 12:30 PM

Right, well -

From those two rules, it looks like you may have an endless logical loop.