Problems ReWrite/Redirect Rule Set

Topics: User Forum
Sep 2, 2011 at 2:19 AM

HELP!

I'm not a programmer and I am having issues with a rule set.  With the exception of one page I have every page of one site rewriting and redirecting fine.  Here are the rules I have written for the page:

ReWriteRule ^/outings /outings.php?page_id=4050&name=Outings [L]

RedirectRule ^/.*(?=Outings) http://www.stevinsonranch.com/outings [R=301]

RedirectRule ^/.*(?=92730) http://www.stevinsonranch.com/outings [R=301]

Obviously, rule #1 rewrites the URL.  Rule #2 sets up a loop so that when the old, unfriendly URL is used, it will redirect to the new URL.  Rule #3 redirects a URL from another web site to the new page.

Run #1 and rule #3 work great.  I can't get the second rule to work at all.  I have tried several variations of the rule such as :

RedirectRule ^/.*(?=4050) http://www.stevinsonranch.com/outings [R=301]

and

RedirectRule ^/.*(?=Outings)$ http://www.stevinsonranch.com/outings [R=301]

Neither variation worked.

Please HELP!

Coordinator
Sep 2, 2011 at 3:51 AM
Edited Sep 2, 2011 at 4:01 AM

did you look in the IIRF logfile? 

Set the LogLevel to be 3 or 4, then run a URL through the site. There will be messages in the IIRF logfile indicating what IIRF did with the URL and why.

Also - you might want to try a regex tester.  It will show you that your regex does not match what you think it matches.

Also - why are you using (?=4050)  ?  Why the parens, and why the ?= which in regex-speak, is a zero-width non-capturing lookahead assertion.  In particular, the segment (?=Outings)$ will never match any string.  It asserts that the string following the cursor is Outings, but then it also asserts that the string must end.  It is not possible for Both conditions to be true, therefore the regex will never match any string.