Proxying a VPN

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Nov 10, 2011 at 8:52 AM
Edited Nov 10, 2011 at 8:52 AM

Hello all,

I'm a relative newbie to IIS 6.0 and an absolute newbie to IIRF. I have the following problem and I'm a bit stumped, I would be grateful for some help.  It is a one-time problem, really, so I can't really afford to spend days or weeks on getting to know all the ins and outs of IIRF however great the product may be...

We have a IIS 6.0 server running on Windows 2003 32-bit.  This server is exposed to the internet and can be accessed through and we have several virtual directories (as in

We also have, on a remote location, a small https server that can only be reached through a VPN tunnel (hamachi, IP address range Our web server is a member of this vpn so it can actually see the remote server.

What I'd like to achieve, is that our public server acts as a proxy so that users from the internet can access our remote vpn server though a virtual directory. So that all requests directed to "" are transparently modified (RewriteRule ???) and sent through the remote server down the vpn tunnel. BTW, the remote server also uses a virtual directory, it looks like https://ip-address/myapp.

Is this possible using IIRF?  And can somebody PLEASE show me a small example?

Thanks in advance,

Nov 10, 2011 at 2:47 PM
Edited Nov 10, 2011 at 2:50 PM

Yes Arthur, it's possible.

You need to use the ProxyPass directive. It's described in the IIRF documentation, and there are lots of examples.

Nov 14, 2011 at 7:23 AM

Well, it's certainly not working for me. Whenever I call our virtual directory, all I get is a html error message "12175 (0x00002f8f)" instead of the login screen of our remote webservice. This remote webservice was written using Atozed Intraweb, by the way.

This is the iirf.ini that I wrote, following the example (the IP address is fake):

RewriteLog c:\logs\iirf
RewriteLogLevel 1
IterationLimit 10
MaxMatchCount 10
RewriteEngine ON
StatusInquiry ON