Getting a feel for subdomains and URLRewriting

Dec 13, 2009 at 12:13 AM

Ok, well first of all I apologize because i'm such a noob, I was putting off creating a thread for as long as I could hoping I'd figure out how it's done....but...5 hours later I still can't get what I'm trying to achieve.

For the time being, I'm just trying trying to get [whatever] to rewrite to[whatever].  

I thought that this would do the trick...

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(?!www)([^.]+)\.mydomain\.com [I]
RewriteRule ^/(.*)$ /echo/?echo=%1 [U,L]

I just started learning regular expressions today, but what I get of this, is that the Rewrite condition is basically saying,  match * but doesn't start with www. 

The RewriteRule says, match basically everything, and send it to /echo/?echo=%1.  The problem is that's exactly what it does, its exactly as if I typed in my browser  And my Default.aspx page echos out "%1".  This is not my intent, I want it to echo out the first part of the HTTP_HOST.  Exchanging the %1(percentage sign 1) for $1 echos out whatever I leave trailing on the * for example if I typed it would echo out "hello_there".

So I guess why is the %1 behaving literally?  I searched the help for it, but couldn't find anything describing what that is for, but I see it used in quite a few examples.

My ultimate goal with this subdomain rewriting is to be able to have something like this - rewrites to (actually an extremely long querystring that has nothing to do with he subdomain name), but then and all would be rewritten to and respectively.

But before I try to tackle the regex for those, I thought i'd better try something simple, which is what the above example I'm trying to work out is for. 

Dec 13, 2009 at 12:39 AM
Edited Dec 13, 2009 at 12:43 AM

Kyle, 5 hours?