ISAPI Rewrite Filter With Modx and Dynamic Links

Topics: User Forum
Jan 16, 2010 at 3:22 AM

Hi, I am having a little challenge getting the Rewrite filter to do what I want.  I am working in the Modx CMS.

My installation is in the Modx directory. 

Links written as
../ModX/index.php?id=2

And being rewritten as the following work fine.
../Modx/textiles.html

However, using a core piece of Modx code

A dynamic link written as
../ModX/index.php?id=2&start=3

Is being rewritten as
../Modx/textiles.html?start=3

This returns a file not found error. 

My filter is written as:

RewriteEngine on
RewriteBase /modx
StatusUrl /iirfStatus
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} ^$
RewriteRule ^/modx/(.*)$ /modx/index.php?q=$1 [L,QSA]

I am very new to this subject, but I was under the impression that the server still sees the link as "/modx/index.php?id=2&start=3". 

So I am a bit lost here as to what to do.  Any help is much appreciated.

Thank you.  Thomas

Keywords: Modx, IIS, Rewrite Filter, Snippet, Ditto, Dynamic Links, SEO, URL

Coordinator
Jan 16, 2010 at 5:10 PM
Edited Jan 16, 2010 at 5:20 PM

Though you have it in your ini file,  RewriteBase is not supported in IIRF.  There's a workitem that covers how such a function might be added:  http://iirf.codeplex.com/WorkItem/View.aspx?WorkItemId=25426   If you have input, I'd appreciate it.

Also, the rewriting results you have shown, do not correspond to the rules you have in your ini file.  Maybe Modx is doing the rewriting?  I don't know modx, but your statement "using a core piece of Modx code, a dynamic link written as xxx is being rewritten as yyy" indicates that modx does rewrites.  If Modx does rewrites, I'm not sure what you want out of IIRF.  I don't know how to answer your question.

Jan 17, 2010 at 5:37 AM

I am from Wisconsin and so I say thanks Big Cheeso!  We are the land of Cheese.