Newbie needs help with joomla site redirect

Topics: User Forum
Feb 4, 2010 at 9:47 PM
Edited Feb 4, 2010 at 9:51 PM

Hi All,

I am completely new to IIRF and, indeed, the whole SEF/SEO Rewrite/Redirect thing. I've done some research so I can at least (hopefully) talk intelligently on this subject! I sure appreciate any help anyone can offer.

My scenario is this--I've been placed in charge of a windows 2003 server (thus IIS 6) which is running a Joomla e-commerce web site. Integrated into Joomla is an "SEF" module called ARTIO which produces web search engine friendly links of the ugly/nasty joomla index.php?itemid=blahblah thing. Artio maintains a database of SEF Links, for example: ( and redirects them to actual Joomla Links. To complete the example: (,blah,blah. So far, so good... (oh, by the way, the server has your IIRF module installed... Artio support set up and configured IIRF as a prerequisite to setting up their SEF component into Joomla ... but I bet you already figured that!)

Now, after running good for more that 16 months, guess what? Our marketing guy wants to change the game again. If what I am understanding is correct, they want to do this:

* They want to make external requests for the original "ugly" (lets call it "non-sef") joomla link now 301 redirect to the search engine desirable sef link. So, to continue my example above, they want: (,blah,blah to redirect to It's like we're moving in circles here, in fact, at first I thought this would create a "loop" and might not be possible... but then I thought a little harder... maybe IIRF can take external http get/requests for the non-sef link and forward it to the sef link *FIRST* before joomla even "sees" what's going on. Then fall through and process the SEF link normally utilizing the "real" non-sef joomla link "internally only". I hope this makes sense... i think it does because if our little company wants to do it than others have to have already done it...